Introduction

14068395_10154669014904767_1020931058009537907_o
Taken at the West Lion Peak in Squamish, BC.

Hello! My name is Kimberley Wong, and I am a 21 year old soul living in Vancouver, BC, Canada, on the unceded ancestral territories of the Coast Salish people, namely the Musqueam, Tsleil-Waututh, Squamish, and Sto:lo peoples. My interests surrounding intersectional feminism piqued in high school, when I realized the difference between the way people saw and categorized me versus my white friends, based on things that I could not control or change. I understood at a young age, as many do, that my race and gender are the first things that people see, and that this makes me susceptible to different kinds of oppression (but I never called it that). I deemed this feeling as unchangeable and inevitable, until I learned about intersectional feminism. At last, I had a word to describe the experiences that I had lived that shaped the way I walk through life. This discovery was empowering for me, to say the least, and it has evolved into a way of thinking and means of living that allows me to see a plethora of issues through an intersectional perspective of love, to see people as fellow flawed individuals with diverse and complex backgrounds, and to meet amazing friends who feel like family.

Leave a Reply

